Pain Society of the Carolinas Wraps Up

Congratulations to Drs. Richard Boortz-Marx and Scott Runyon, Program Directors for the 6th Annual Meeting of the Pain Society of the Carolinas (PSOC). Duke was well represented with lectures by multiple faculty including Drs. Steve Prakken, Tom VandeVen, Lance Roy, and Tom Buchheit. Emily Davis and Jennifer Parsons additionally moderated and presented sessions for the Healthcare Practitioner Tract. During the Poster Competition, Bronwyn Southwell received an award for the Best Clinical Poster, and Michele Hendrickson received an award for the Best Oral Poster.

Dr. Buchheit is also a member of the PSOC’s Advocacy Committee whose mission is to “advance the art and science of pain medicine by promoting and maintaining the highest standards of professional practice through education and research.”

The meeting, held October 23-25, was one of the most successful to date with more than 230 attendees. Congratulations to all!