New Research Grant Awards

The following departmental faculty were awarded new competitive and non-competitive research grants during calendar year 2017.

Miles Berger, MD, PhDMiles Berger, MD, PhD
Neuro-Inflammation in Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction: CSF and fMRI Studies
Award Date: 7/5/2017
Funding Agency: National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Grant Amount: $1,195,505

Quintin J. Quinones, MD, PhDQuintin J. Quinones, MD, PhD
Reversible Immunomodulation as a Strategy for Ischemia Tolerance in Hibernation
Award Date: 5/23/2017
Funding Agency: Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER)
Grant Amount: $175,000

Madan M. Kwatra, PhDMadan M. Kwatra, PhD
Evaluation of Novel Anti-Cancer Agents, Either Alone or in Combination, for Activity Against Glioblastoma Subtypes: A Personalized Medicine Approach
Award Date: 5/11/2017
Funding Agency: Genzada Pharmaceuticals
Grant Amount: $763,200

Madan M. Kwatra, PhDMadan M. Kwatra, PhD
Development of VAL-083, Alone or in Combination With Other Agents, to Inhibit the Growth of Specific Subsets of Glioblastoma (Personalized Drug Development)
Award Date: 4/20/2017
Funding Agency: DelMar Pharmaceuticals
Grant Amount: $715,500

Jeffrey M. Taekman, MDJeffrey M. Taekman, MD
Simulation-Based Crisis Resource Management as a Risk Reduction Strategy for the Health System
Award Date: 3/27/2017
Funding Agency: Durham Casualty
Grant Amount: $108,668

William Maixner, DDS, PhDWilliam Maixner, DDS, PhD
Chronic Overlapping Pain Conditions
Award Date: 3/20/2017
Funding Agency: University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
Grant Amount: $158,998

Anne Cherry, MDAnne D. Cherry, MD
Interface of Mitochondrial Dysfunction and Immune Activation in Heterotopic Mouse Heart Transplant
Award Date: 3/20/2017
Award Title: AST TIRN Basic Science Faculty Development Research Grant
Funding Agency: Transplantation and Immunology Research Network (TIRN), an American Society of Transplantation (AST) Program
Grant Amount: $50,000

Thomas E. Buchheit, MDThomas E. Buchheit, MD
Germline Epigenetic Effects of Opioids (GEEO)
Award Date: 3/16/2017
Funding Agency: Research Triangle Institute International
Grant Amount: $79,999

Madan M. Kwatra, PhDMadan M. Kwatra, PhD
Efficacy of AZD9291 Against EGFRvIII-Positive Glioblastoma
Award Date: 3/1/2017
Funding Agency: AstraZeneca
Grant Amount: $97,109

Annemarie Thompson, MDMadhav Swaminathan, MD, FASE, FAHAAnnemarie Thompson, MD
Madhav Swaminathan, MD, FASE, FAHA

PROMISE – Perioperative Risk Optimization with Machine Learning for an Improved Surgical Experience
Award Date: 3/1/2017
Funding Agency: The Duke Institute for Health Innovation (DIHI)
Grant Amount: $50,000

Jennifer Dominguez, MDJennifer Dominguez, MD, MHS
Obstructive Sleep Apnea Screening in Pregnant Women with Chronic Hypertension
Award Date: 2/14/2017
Funding Agency: Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology (SOAP)
Grant Amount: $100,000

Sven-Eric Jordt, PhDSven-Eric Jordt, PhD
Biomarkers of Lung Injury in Methyl Isocyanate Exposed Rodents and Pigs
Award Date: 2/10/2017
Funding Agency: University of Colorado – Denver
Grant Amount: $577,458

Jeffrey C. Gadsden, MDJeffrey C. Gadsden, MD, FRCPC, FANZCA
Mallinckrodt Hip IV vs. PO Acetaminophen
Award Date: 1/19/2017
Funding Agency: Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals
Grant Amount: $199,734

Ankeet D. Udani, MD, MSEdAnkeet D. Udani, MD, MSEd
Psychological and Workplace Safety Changes After the Implementation of Safety Modules in the Operating Rooms of India Narayana Health System: A Qualitative Study
Award Date: 1/24/2017
Funding Agency: ChatrHealth
Grant Amount: $15,000