Simulation Center wins APSF Research Grant and Ellison C. Pierce, Jr. Education Award

The Human Simulation and Patient Safety Center and the Department of Anesthesiology received a grant from the Anesthesia Patient Safety Foundation to study objective measures of performance in anesthesia care. The research team includes Melanie Wright, PI, Jeffrey Taekman, Co-PI, Jonathan Mark, Mark Stafford-Smith, Gene Hobbs, Barbara Phillips-Bute, and Bryan Andregg. The team will compare objective measures of anesthesia care performance with respect to their sensitivity to provider experience and simulated anesthesia case difficulty. The objective measures will include eye scan behavior and responses to situation awareness probes and will be compared to more commonly used measures such as observer ratings based on checklists. MORE