2017 DIG Recipients Revealed

The much anticipated 2017 DREAM Innovation Grant (DIG) recipients were announced at Duke Anesthesiology’s 28th Annual ASA Alumni Event at the ROOF on theWit in Chicago on Saturday, October 22.

Congratulations to the 2017 DIG winners:

Kamrouz Ghadimi, MD

Kamrouz Ghadimi, MD

“Role of Sirtuins in Platelet Aging and Perioperative Thrombocytopenia after Mechanical Circulatory Support”

Ian J. Welsby, MB BS

Ian Welsby, MB BS

“Red Cell Rejuvenation for Optimal Tissue Oxygen Delivery”

DIGs support innovative high-risk and potentially high-reward investigations to accelerate anesthesia and pain management research. Each year, Duke Anesthesiology junior and senior faculty members compete for a DIG by submitting their most innovative research ideas to the DIG Application Review Committee. Dr. David Warner announces the DIG recipients at the department’s annual ASA alumni event.

Each DIG recipient can receive up to $25,500 in seed money which supports their pilot study for one year and ultimately helps them apply for and obtain extramural funding. These grants are funded through a combination of: private donors, private companies, alumni, faculty and executive board members. To date, $542,900 in DIG donations have led to nearly $8 million in extramural funding.

The DIG is part of the Duke DREAM Campaign which launched in 2007 to support Duke Anesthesiology’s research programs and initiatives. These grants create an avenue for healthy competition among faculty, inspire ingenuity, promote the careers of young physician investigators, enhance donor communication, and further the department’s academic mission. DIGs help to bridge the gap between training and progression to independent investigator status. Click here to view all of Duke Anesthesiology’s DIG recipients and their projects.