DREAM Innovation Grant (DIG) Recipients

DIG 2017 Announcement

Ulrike Hoffmann, MD, PhD – 2016

Argon as a Potential Therapeutic in Stroke; Effects on Oxygen Utilization and Cerebral Blood Flow Response after Cortical Spreading Depression and Injury Depolarizations

Miles Berger, MD, PhD – 2014

Determination of the Role of Alzheimer’s Disease Pathways in Post-Operative Cognitive Dysfunction

In May of 2014, Dr. Berger was awarded a two-year, $150,000 International Anesthesia Research Society Mentored Research Award, entitled, “The trajectory and significance of perioperative changes in AD biomarkers."

Thomas Van de Ven, MD, PhD – 2014

The role of FXR, TGR5 and the Bile Acid Pathway in the Prevention and Treatment of Chronic Post-Nerve Injury Pain

In November of 2015, Dr. Van de Ven received a 3-year, $1.5 million Department of Defense (DoD) Neurosensory Research grant renewal for his VIPER (Veterans Integrated Pain Evaluation Research) study entitled “Chronic Pain after Amputation: Inflammatory Mechanisms, Novel Analgesic Pathways, and Improved Patient Safety.”

Michael Manning, MD, PhD – 2013

Cardiopulmonary Bypass Induced Inflammatory Changes in the Atrial Wall: The Novel Role for Cardiac Chymase produced Angiotensin II in the Development of Atrial Fibrillation

In Spring of 2013, Dr. Manning was awarded a two-year, $50,000 Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists (SCA) Starter Grant

Karthik Raghunathan, MD, MPH – 2013

Comparative effectiveness in Perioperative and Critical Care Medicine: Crystalloid Fluid Therapy

In Spring of 2013, Dr. Raghunathan was awarded a $206,944 extramural grant from the Baxter Healthcare Corporation Fluids franchise

In Fall of 2013, Dr. Raghunathan was awarded the $100,000 APSF/ASA Endowed Research Award from the APSF Scientific Evaluation Committee

Mihai V. Podgoreanu, MD – 2012

Elucidating Adaptive Mechanisms of Perioperative Cardioprotection Following Ischemiareperfusion in Hibernating Arctic Ground Squirrels

In the Spring of 2012, Dr. Podgoreanu was awarded a $75,000 Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research Grant, and a $10,000 Duke SOM voucher award.

Huaxin Sheng, MD – 2012

Effect of an Mn-Porphyrin in Neuropathic Pain

In the Summer of 2014, Dr. Sheng was awarded $256,929 by the Department of Defense to the University of Alabama/Birmingham with a sub-award to Duke University/Dr. David Warner for his follow up DIG research entitled, "Treatment of Neuropathic Pain after SCI with a Catalytic Oxidoreductant."

Joseph P. Mathew, MD – 2011

Functional Neuroimaging to Assess Cognitive Function after Cardiac Surgery

In August 2011, Dr. Mathew was awarded a two-year, $431,750 Exploratory/Developmental research grant from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.

Wei Yang, PhD – 2011

Role of SUMO2/3 Conjugation Pathway in Cerebral Ischemia/Stroke

Dr. Yang was awarded a fouryear, $308,000 NCRP Winter 2012 Scientist Development Grant from the American Heart Association.

Contact Us

Stacey Hilton
Director of Communications
Department of Anesthesiology
Office: 919.684.8524

Kelsey Steller
Senior Public Relations Specialist
Department of Anesthesiology
Office: 919.613.0469

DIG Funding 2016