Class of 2024 Graduates from Duke Anesthesiology Training Programs

This year's cohort of anesthesiology residents and fellows have successfully completed their training programs, marking a significant milestone in their medical careers. Duke Anesthesiology’s residency and fellowship classes of 2024 gathered on June 22 and 23 to celebrate their graduation from the department’s training programs and their commitment to “changing the face of anesthesiology.” Fifteen residents received their diplomas at the ceremony held at the JB Duke Hotel in Durham, and 36 fellows received their diplomas at the ceremony held at The Rickhouse in Durham.

2024 Resident Graduation Class
2024 Fellowship Graduating Class

The Duke Anesthesiology Fellowship Education Program is led by Dr. Annemarie Thompson, vice chair for education. She also serves as director of the Duke Anesthesiology Residency Program alongside assistant program directors, Drs. Angela Pollak and Sarah Cotter.

Drs. Annemarie Thompson, Angela Pollak, and Sarah Cotter
Drs. Annemarie Thompson, Angela Pollak, and Sarah Cotter

"I am deeply inspired by the dedication and growth I have witnessed in each of these remarkable anesthesiology residents and fellows," says Thompson. "Their unwavering commitment to excellence, coupled with their empathy and resilience, equips them to positively impact the field of anesthesiology and the lives of their patients. I have no doubt that they will go on to achieve great things and uphold the highest standards of patient care in our specialty and beyond."

Resident leadership positions were also recognized during the ceremony:

Chief Residents: Drs. Tiffany Dong and Sydney Reed
Education Chief Residents: Drs. Stephen Davies and Fintan Hughes
ACES Chief Resident: Dr. Jessica Liu

Follow us and our graduates on Twitter and Instagram:

@Duke_Anesthesia | @DukeAnesRes | @DukeAnesFellows | @DukeAnes | @DukeAnesRes

View the 2024 Duke Anesthesiology Fellowship Program Photo Gallery

View the 2024 Duke Anesthesiology Residency Program Photo Gallery

Join the Duke Anesthesiology Alumni Association Today!

Congratulations to all of the graduates!

Left to Right: Jatin Anand, MD, Emily Barney, MD, Brian Barron, MD, Thomas Bunning, MD
Left to Right: George Cortina, MD, PhD, Stephen Davies, MD, Tiffany Dong, MD, Matthew Harrell, MD, MS
Left to Right: Janice Hu, MD, Fintan Hughes, MB, BCh, BAO, Jessica Liu, MD, PhD, Kevin Merola, MD
Left to Right: Sydney Reed, MD, Keith VanDusen, MD, John Ward, MD

Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology

Left to Right: Rushil Bose, DO, Bryan Chow, MD, Jussle Lawrence Del Rosario, MD, Liliane Ernst, MD
Left to Right: Ethan Garrigan, MD, MPA, Ryan Gessouroun, MD, Craig Grosshuesch, MD, Sophie Higgins, MD
Left to Right: Jason Liao, MD, Jason Pang, MD, Rodrigo Pereira, MD, Katherine Sun, MD
Left to Right: Marina Tumino, DO & Miguel Yaport, MD

Critical Care Medicine

Left to Right: Faryal Ahmad, MD, Kelly Ivins-O'Keefe, MD, Andrew Kahng, DO, Terrance Nowell, MD
Left to Right: Kathryn Pearson, MD, Miguel Rovira, MD, Andre Savadjian, MD

Obstetric Anesthesiology

Left to Right: Sara Feldman, MD & Rebecca Himmelwright, MD

Pain Medicine

Left to Right: Kaiwal Patel, MD, Jamie Roper, MD, Steven Vranian, MD

Pediatric Anesthesiology

Left to Right: Benjamin Andrew, MD & Andrew Breglio, MD

Pediatric Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology

Michael Greenberg, MD

Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine

Left to Right: Talitha Budi, MD, Benjamin Fiorillo, MD, Akshay Jagadeesh, MD, Dylan Matthews, MD
Ariana Prinzbach, MD

Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine

Left to Right: Thomas Gregory, MD & Laura Lauer, DO