Duke Pain Medicine Fellowship Earns Distinguished Award

The American Academy of Pain Medicine (AAPM) has selected Duke Anesthesiology’s Pain Medicine Fellowship as a recipient of the 2024 Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award. The award recognizes pain fellowship programs within the United States that are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), and that provide an exceptional learning experience to their fellows — preparing them to deliver the highest standard of care to patients with pain. The award also recognizes educational excellence, development of research opportunities, and a rewarding fellowship experience. Duke is one of just two institutions to receive the distinguished honor this year.

“We are thrilled to be recognized by the AAPM with the 2024 Pain Medicine Fellowship Excellence Award!” says Dr. Peter Yi, director of the Duke Pain Medicine Fellowship. He received the award on behalf of the fellowship at the 40th Annual AAPM Meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona this month. “All of the faculty, staff and trainees have put so much hard work into making this fellowship what it is today, and we are honored to be recognized for our efforts!”

The Duke Pain Medicine Fellowship prides itself on being a multidisciplinary fellowship program at Duke University Medical Center — one of the leading medical centers in the nation with a worldwide reputation for excellence in clinical care, teaching and research. The pain medicine fellows’ clinical schedule is designed to provide a broad exposure to pain management in a variety of health care settings so that graduates are well trained to practice independently upon graduation in academics, government or private practice.