Class of 2023 Graduates from Duke Anesthesiology Training Programs

Duke Anesthesiology’s residency and fellowship classes of 2023 gathered on June 10 and 11 to celebrate their graduation from the department’s training programs and their commitment to “changing the face of anesthesiology.” Thirteen residents received their diplomas at the ceremony held at the JB Duke Hotel in Durham and 37 fellows received their diplomas at the ceremony held at The Rickhouse in Durham.

Fellowship Graduating Class of 2023
Dr. Mark Stafford-Smith
Dr. Mark Stafford-Smith

The Duke Anesthesiology Fellowship Education Program is led by Dr. Mark Stafford-Smith, who says, “Heartiest congratulations to all of our fellow graduates! Also, please accept our sincerest gratitude on your professionalism and poise in caring for our patients throughout this year. It is with great pride, but a little bittersweet, that we watch as many of you disperse to meet your future challenges. You have majorly contributed to Duke Anesthesiology’s ability to maintain the highest standards in patient care.” This year’s fellowship graduation was of special significance as it marked Stafford-Smith’s final ceremony ahead of his retirement this summer following a 38-year career in the field of anesthesiology, with 29 of those years at Duke Anesthesiology.

Resident Graduating Class of 2023
Dr. Angela Pollak
Dr. Angela Pollak
Dr. Annemarie Thompson
Dr. Annemarie Thompson

The Duke Anesthesiology Residency Program is led by Dr. Annemarie Thompson, with assistant residency program director, Dr. Angela Pollak. “I am so proud and humbled by these amazing physicians,” says Thompson. “They are a talented, resilient, and compassionate group who will make important contributions to our specialty, our patients, and our world.”

Resident leadership positions were also recognized during the ceremony:

Chief Residents: Drs. Kathryn Pearson and Kattie Sun
Education Chief Residents: Drs. Dylan Matthews and Reade Tillman
ACES Chief Resident: Dr. Benjamin Andrew

Follow us and our graduates on Twitter and Instagram:

@Duke_Anesthesia | @DukeAnesRes | @DukeAnesFellows | @DukeAnes | @DukeAnesRes

View the 2023 Duke Anesthesiology Fellowship Program Photo Gallery

View the 2023 Duke Anesthesiology Residency Program Photo Gallery

Join the Duke Anesthesiology Alumni Association Today!

Congratulations to all of the graduates!

Left to Right: Benjamin Andrew, MD, MHS, Subasish Bhowmik, MD, Andrew Breglio, MD, PhD, Sara Feldman, MD
Left to Right: Ryan Gessouroun, MD, Alex Girden, MD, Akshay Jagadeesh, MD, Dylan Matthews, MD
Left to Right: Michael Paonessa, MD, Kathryn Pearson, MD, Katherine Sun, MD, Hong Tang, MD
Reade Tillman, MD

Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology

Left to Right: Vincent Brinker. MD; Crosby Culp, MD; Madison Goldberger, MD; Andre Jacobsen, MD
Left to Right: Matthew Li. DO, MHS; Hong Liang, DO; Erika Lodgek, MD; Roberto Lopez, MD
Left to Right: Jason McGavin, MD; Ashley McNeil, MD; Terrance Nowell, MD; Daneel Patoli, MD
Left to Right: Andre Savadjian, MD; Felipe Vasconcelos Torres, MD, PhD

Critical Care Medicine

Left to Right: Yousef Ahmed, MD; Bryan Chow, MD; Michael Cutrone, DO; Ethan Garrigan, MD, MPA
Left to Right: Rebecca Himmelwright, MD; Maximilian Hoffman, MD; Rodrigo Pereira, MD; Tyler Poi, MD

Obstetric Anesthesiology

Left to Right: Ilhan Eli. MD; Liliane Ernst, MD

Pain Medicine

Left to Right: Sameep Baral, MBBS; Andrew Bloomfield, MD; Jacob Byers, MD; Philip Lin, MD

Pediatric Anesthesiology

Left to Right: Chinwe Anumudu, MD; Lori lones, MD

Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine

Left to Right: Christina Chen, MD; Emily Chen, MD; Ivy Co, DO; James Maher, MD
Bryan Ray, MD

Undersea and Hyperbaric Medicine

Left to Right: Mary Ellis, MD. MPH; Matthew Makowski, MD. PhD