Duke University School of Medicine Announces Anesthesiology Leadership

March 24, 2015 | From Nancy C. Andrews, MD, PhD, Dean, Duke University School of Medicine

I am pleased to announce that Joseph P. Mathew, MD, MHSc, MBA, the Jerry Reves, MD, Professor of Anesthesiology, will be the permanent chair for the Department of Anesthesiology, effective immediately. This decision was made after a national search, and I want to thank the search committee, led by Dr. Benjamin Alman, for all of their efforts.

Dr. Mathew has served as interim chair of the department since April 2014 and during that time has demonstrated exceptional leadership and a strong commitment to excellence and the continued growth and success of the department.

Dr. Mathew received his medical degree from Southwestern Medical School in Dallas, TX, and completed his residency in anesthesiology and a fellowship in Cardiovascular Anesthesiology at Yale University School of Medicine.  In 1998, Dr. Mathew joined the faculty at Duke and has since served as director of the Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography (TEE), director of the Neurological Outcome Research Group and the Clinical Research Unit, chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology, and most recently as executive vice chair of Performance and Operations for the Department of Anesthesiology.  Dr. Mathew is an active physician-scientist funded by the National Institutes of Health for research on perioperative neurocognition and functional neuronal connectivity, particularly in the setting of cardiac surgery. He has published over 200 manuscripts and book chapters and is the editor of the leading textbook on perioperative TEE. He is also the current president of the Association of Cardiac Anesthesiologists and was recently elected into the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research’s Academy of Research Mentors.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Mathew on his new appointment.

Chris KeithDuke University School of Medicine Announces Anesthesiology Leadership