That’s a Wrap! Highlights from Duke Anesthesiology’s 24th Annual Academic Evening

2016 Academic Evening Feature

Duke Anesthesiology hosted another successful Academic Evening on May 9 at the Millennium Hotel in Durham. The 24th Annual Academic Evening featured an impressive 103 poster abstract presentations from the department’s junior level investigators and faculty. The ePosters represented challenging clinical cases and research reports from all training levels and departmental divisions. This annual event helps promote research and discovery with the overall goal of advancing anesthesia, critical care and pain management.

“Academic Evening is a great opportunity to learn more about all of the amazing work our peers are doing,” said Dr. Sarah Cotter, one of Duke Anesthesiology’s resident interns. “Participating in Academic Evening reminded me of the many reasons why I was so excited to Match here and of all the things I’m looking forward to starting in my CA-1 year.”

New to this year’s category line-up was the addition of “Quality Improvement Projects,” a new educational initiative led by Dr. Brad Taicher with the Department of Anesthesiology.

Duke Anesthesiology alumna and former faculty member, Dr. Debra Schwinn, served as this year’s guest judge and speaker. Dr. Schwinn is currently the associate vice president for medical affairs at the University of Iowa and also holds appointments as a professor of anesthesiology, pharmacology and biochemistry. Her inspiring speech touched on lifestyle advice and ways to better improve patient care. When presenting awards for each of the winning posters, she described each project and its potential implications to the science and practice of anesthesiology.

Incoming Duke Anesthesiology resident intern, Dr. Russ Horres, was given the opportunity to recite a quote from Antonio Machado during Dr. Schwinn’s speech: “Traveler, there is no path; paths are made by walking.” He said the event is “a great opportunity to meet and interact with attendings in the department. I was really impressed by all of the research going on in the department, especially from a basic science standpoint.”

At the conclusion of the evening, program directors, Dr. David Warner and Dr. Cathleen Peterson-Layne, thanked all of the participants and everyone who helped make this event possible, especially those who served as abstract judges, moderators, mentors, and support staff. “At the end of a long year, spending the evening surrounded by great people, great ideas, and great food can be the exact reminder we need that we are all so fortunate to be here and to be part of this group,” said Dr. Cotter when asked about her overall experience participating in this year’s event and winning runner-up in the “Resident Research category.

Congratulations to each of the award winners and teams, listed below.

2016 Academic Evening Winners

1st Place
Satya Achanta, DVM, PhD
(Duke Anesthesiology Chemical Sensing, Pain and Inflammation Research Laboratory)
TRPV4 Inhibitor Improves Pulmonary Function and Oxygen Saturation in a Pig Translational Model of Chemically Induced Acute Lung Injury

Shuai Liu, PhD
(Duke Anesthesiology Molecular Neurobiology Laboratory)
SUMO2 plays a critical role in episodic and fear memories

1st Place
Ying Hui Low, MD
(Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
Heart-specific release of immune mediators during surgical ischemia-reperfusion and their association with postoperative adverse outcomes

Lisa Einhorn, MD
(Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
Percutaneous Endoscopic Gastrostomy versus Surgical Gastrostomy in Infants with Congenital Heart Disease

Tiffany Richburg, MD
(Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
Postoperative Atrial Fibrillation:  Predictive Value of Global Longitudinal Strain

1st Place
Brittney Ciszek, PhD
(Pending Dental Student, Duke Anesthesiology Center for Translational Pain Medicine)
Peripherally located β2-and β3-adrenergic receptors contribute to the development of COMT-dependent pain in rats, but not the maintenance of pain in COMT-/-mice

Daniel DeMasi
(Clinical Trial Assistant, Duke Human Pharmacology and Physiology Lab)
Measurement of Non-Invasive Cerebral Flow During Hypocapnia & Hypercapnia

1st Place
Nathan Waldron, MD
(CA-3 Resident, Duke Anesthesiology)
Adverse outcomes associated with postoperative atrial arrhythmias after lung transplantation

Sarah Frush Cotter, MD
(Resident Intern, Duke Anesthesiology)
Blood-Brain Barrier Permeability and Cognitive Dysfunction After Cardiac and Non-Cardiac Surgery

Lauren H. Jones, MD
(CA-1 Resident, Duke Anesthesiology)
Early Progressive Mobility Protocol Implementation in the ICU:  Analysis of Medical and Fiscal Benefits

1st Place
Alexander Chamessian
(Medical Student, Duke University School of Medicine)
Optogenetic control of A-beta fibers using a novel VGLUT1-Channelrhodopsin-EYFP mouse

Yul Daniel Huh
(Medical Student, Duke University School of Medicine)
Intrathecally injected bone marrow stromal cells produce sustained neuropathic pain reduction in paclitaxel-treated mice

1st Place
Hassan Amhaz, MD
(Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
Upper Extremity Peripheral Intravenous Line Infiltration with Concomitant Loss of Pulses Treated with Lipoaspiration: A Case Report

Bronwyn Southwell, MD
(Pain Medicine Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
Intramedullary implantation of an intrathecal catheter

Agnes Lamon, MD
(Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
TWO DIFFICULT AIRWAYS AT ONCE: EXIT procedure for severe fetal micrognathia in a mother with Pierre-Robin syndrome

1st Place
Kendall Smith, MD
(CA-2 Resident, Duke Anesthesiology)
Real-time electronic reminders improve timely re-dosing of prophylactic antibiotics during surgery

Suraj Yalamari, MD (CA-3 Resident, Duke Anesthesiology)
Jamie Privratsky, MD (CA-3 Resident, Duke Anesthesiology)
Dissemination of a Simple Flowchart to Reduce the Unnecessary Escalation of Antibiotic Prophylaxis

Nazish K. Hashmi, MD
(Critical Care Medicine Anesthesiology Fellow, Duke Anesthesiology)
Development, implementation and evaluation of the impact of a standardized perioperative blood transfusion protocol for cardiac surgery patients at the Durham VAMC

View the 2016 AcademicEvening Photo Gallery

Stacey HiltonThat’s a Wrap! Highlights from Duke Anesthesiology’s 24th Annual Academic Evening