Faculty Named Duke Health Scholars and Fellows

Drs. Karhausen, Podgoreanu, QadriOn November 2, the Duke University School of Medicine announced that 38 faculty members were named as Duke Health Scholars and Duke Health Fellows. Three faculty members of Duke Anesthesiology received the honors that recognize both past achievements and future potential for continued success as clinician-scientists.

Dr. Jorn Karhausen was named a Duke Health Scholar in which he will receive a substantial award to expand his research in new directions. Drs. Muhammad Yawar Qadri and Mihai Podgoreanu, chief of the Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Division, were both named Duke Health Fellows in which they will each receive a smaller research discretionary fund and expert mentoring tailored to their interests and career aspirations.

This inaugural program was created to support the research efforts and enhance the academic success of early to mid-career clinician-scientists in School of Medicine clinical departments. Award recipients were nominated by their department chairpersons and selected through peer review.

Chris KeithFaculty Named Duke Health Scholars and Fellows