Dr. Grantham Awarded Duke AHEAD Grant

Ashley Grantham, PhD

Ashley Grantham, PhD

Duke Academy for Health Professions Education and Academic Development (Duke AHEAD) has awarded Duke Anesthesiology’s Ashley Grantham, PhD, and co-investigators a $5,000 research and innovations grant for her project, titled “The development, implementation, and evaluation of a learning community to support education research in the health professions.” This funding is aimed at improving health professions education through innovative approaches to instruction or assessment. Co-principal investigators include Deborah Engle, EdD, MS, and Kyle Covington, PT, DPT, PhD.

According to the project proposal, health professions education (HPE) research has the ability to improve the quality of teaching and learning in the health professions by providing insight into effective strategies, programs and practices. These findings have the ability to impact not only learner outcomes but patient outcomes as well (O’Sullivan & Irby, 2011). However, research in health professions education sometimes lacks the rigor found in traditional education research and clinical and basic science research.

Drs. Grantham, Engle and Covington assert that professional development devoted to HPE education, research and design will help increase participants’ knowledge of solid education research design and methodologies, addressing some of the needs established in the literature on HPE.

The investigators specifically aim to implement an interprofessional development program focused on improving the education research knowledge and skills of health professionals and professional staff working in HPE. They plan to use best practices in evaluation to assess the impact of an HPE research professional development program on 1) increasing participant knowledge of education research concepts and practices and 2) fostering research in HPE. They hypothesize that participation in this program will increase participant knowledge of education research concepts and scholarly productivity in the area of health professions education research.

Chris KeithDr. Grantham Awarded Duke AHEAD Grant
Read More

Fellows Awarded Funding in Duke Competition

Drs. Dinesh Kurian, Kendall Smith, Christina Pedro

Duke Anesthesiology critical care medicine fellows, Drs. Dinesh Kurian and Kendall Smith, and obstetric anesthesiology fellow, Dr. Christina Pedro, along with their faculty support, have received $3,000 in funding for each of their projects submitted to the 2017 Duke Graduate Medical Education High-Value Care Quality Improvement Competition.

Dr. Kurian’s Project: “Appropriate Selection of Vasopressor Infusion in the Cardiothoracic ORs to Reduce Cost.” Faculty support: Dr. Cory Maxwell (Cardiothoracic Anesthesia)

Dr. Pedro’s Project: “Postoperative Opioid Use and Practices.” Faculty support: Dr. Ashraf Habib (chief, Women’s Anesthesia)

Dr. Smith’s Project: “Reducing Delirium via Non-pharmacologic Methods in the Surgical Intensive Care Unit.” Faculty support: Drs. Madan Kwatra (Basic Sciences) and Nazish Hashmi (Cardiothoracic Anesthesia)

Dr. Paul Wischmeyer is also recognized as faculty support for Duke Neurology’s Dr. Joshua VanDerWerf’s winning project, titled “Improving nutrition delivery in our critically ill.” This funding is made possible by a grant from The Duke Endowment to support Duke house staff in high-value care learning and practice.

Chris KeithFellows Awarded Funding in Duke Competition
Read More

2017 Resident Graduation Wrap-Up!

Saturday, June 17 marked a memorable evening for Duke Anesthesiology’s “Resident Class of 2017” as they graduated from this nationally-acclaimed program and gathered with their families to celebrate at Hope Valley Country Club in Durham.

Chairman Joseph Mathew delivered opening remarks about the impact anesthesiologists have on patient care before he, the director (Dr. Annemarie Thompson) and assistant directors (Drs. Brian Colin and Ankeet Udani) of the residency program gave each of the 13 graduates their diplomas. The Outstanding Graduate Award was presented to Dr. Jenna Falcinelli, the co-chief resident of the graduating class. And, Drs. Annie Castro, Theresa Crowgey and Taylor Herbert were all winners of Dr. Richard Moon’s trainee quiz awards.

Several awards were also presented to faculty throughout the evening. Dr. Brian Ginsberg received the Robert Sladen Teacher of the Year Award; Dr. Kerri Wahl received the Mentor Award and Dr. Abigail Melnick received the Residency Program Contribution Award.

Additionally, the department recognized resident leadership positions by presenting them with certificates:

  • Chief Resident Leadership: Drs. Jenna Falcinelli and Chris Wahal
  • Academic Chief Resident Leadership: Drs. Taylor Herbert and Kendall Smith
  • Teaching Scholar Leadership: Drs. Stephanie Jones and Alex Reskallah

Congratulations to all of the graduates and award winners!

Resident Graduates Post-Residency Plans
Jason Bluth Private practice in Hawaii
Jenna Falcinelli Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellowship at Duke University
Taylor Herbert Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Duke University
Alina Hulsey Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship at Duke University
Shawn Jia Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at University of California, San Francisco
Stephanie Jones Pediatric Anesthesiology Fellowship at Duke University
Allison Overmon Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship at Duke University
Alexander Reskallah Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Duke University
Brian Rogers Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology Fellowship at Duke University, then a Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Johns Hopkins University
Brandon Seifert Private practice in Buffalo, New York
Kendall Smith Critical Care Medicine Fellowship at Duke University
Dennis Thapa Pain Medicine Fellowship at Massachusetts General
Chris Wahal Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship at Duke University

Chris Keith2017 Resident Graduation Wrap-Up!
Read More