Faculty members in the Regional Division provide world-class education to medical students, residents and fellows, and consistently receive outstanding teaching accolades, with several faculty members receiving the annual Duke residency “Teacher of the Year” award in recent years.

The Regional Division is proud of the Regional Anesthesiology and Acute Pain Medicine (RAAPM) Fellowship. While regional anesthesia fellowship training has existed and flourished at Duke for more than 20 years, the fellowship was one of a handful to be the first ACGME-accredited fellowships in the country in 2017. The RAAPM Fellowship is highly competitive and is widely regarded as one of the best training programs in the country. Dr. Amanda Kumar is the associate program director for the fellowship, and Drs. Michael Bullock and Neil Ray are site directors for the Duke University Hospital and Inpatient Pain Service rotations.

Kumar is also highly involved with Duke’s Human Simulation and Patient Safety Center. She has expertise in simulation-based medical education and is interested in studying the role of simulation techniques to improve skill acquisition and retention in regional anesthesia procedures.

The Regional Division also has a track record of outstanding extramural education. The divisional faculty are invited to teach hands-on workshops every year at the ASA, ASRA, SCA, SAMBA and other meetings. The division has also hosted the first Point of Care Ultrasound (POCUS) workshop in the country aimed at perioperative physicians, an ongoing collaborative regional anesthesiology symposium and workshop in Tel Aviv, and co-hosted with UNC an annual regional anesthesiology and POCUS workshop provided free of charge to trainees around the country.

Anesthesiologists from around the globe travel to visit the Regional Division and spend several days learning from their expert faculty.