Research News

Dr. Nackley Awarded NIH Grant for Innovative Pain Therapy Research

Congratulations to Andrea Nackley, PhD, on receiving a two-year $1,846,202 R61 grant to develop novel Adrb3 antagonists for the treatment of chronic primary pain conditions as part of the NIH’s Helping to End Addiction Long-term (HEAL) Initiative.

New Intravenous Lipid Nutrition Cuts Pediatric Hospitalizations and Infections

New research from a Duke team, led by anesthesiologist Dr. Paul Wischmeyer and published in JAMA Network Open, reveals the first evidence in a pediatric population that switching to a new multi-component lipid with fish oil can improve patient outcomes and significantly shorten patient length of stay.

Dr. Kenney Awarded NIH Grant to Study Sickle Cell Disease Pain

Congratulations to Martha Kenney, MD, on receiving a five-year $672,334 grant from the National Institutes of Health to identify the factors that predict severe pain outcomes in those with sickle cell disease to improve pain management strategies.

Dr. Bang Awarded NIH Grant for Craniofacial Pain Research

Congratulations to Sangsu Bang, PhD, on receiving a $322,000 R03 grant from the National Institutes of Health for his project that proposes a novel molecular mechanism for the resolution of tertiary pain, ultimately advancing the understanding of how neurogenic inflammation is controlled.

Faculty, Fellow Awarded NIH Grant for Chronic Pain Study

Congratulations to Drs. Andrea Nackley and Nathaniel Hernandez (fellow), on receiving a $128,409 fellowship grant from the National Institutes of Health for their project aimed at advancing the understanding of the epigenetic basis for chronic primary pain conditions and elucidating new therapeutic targets.

Dr. Serbanescu Earns Mentored Research Award

Congratulations to Mara Serbanescu, MD, on receiving the International Anesthesia Research Society’s Mentored Research Award for her project that aims to advance the understanding of how nutritional interventions affect gut microbiota, bacterial translocation, and immune and inflammatory responses in early trauma.

Dr. Treggiari Named Distinguished Professor at Duke

Congratulations to Miriam Treggiari, MD, PhD, MPH, Duke Anesthesiology’s vice chair for research, on being named the Paul G. Barash Professor of Anesthesiology at the Duke University School of Medicine – the highest honor that Duke bestows on its faculty members.

Duke Anesthesiology Faculty Awarded FAER Grants

Congratulations to Drs. Leah Acker and Elizabeth Malinzak on being selected as recipients of the 2023 Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research-American Board of Anesthesiology Research in Education Grant and the Grant for Early Medical/Surgical Specialists' Transition to Aging Research.

A Record-Breaking Academic Evening

An unprecedented number of 100 abstracts were showcased at Duke Anesthesiology’s 31st Annual Academic Evening, an event that aims to advance anesthesiology, critical care and pain management. Congratulations to all of the award winners!