Anesthesia Faculty Awarded Health Innovation Grant

Drs. Annemarie Thompson and Madhav SwaminathanThe Duke Institute for Health Innovation (DIHI) has awarded a multidisciplinary team from the Duke departments of anesthesiology, surgery, medicine and statistical sciences a $50,000 grant for their project titled, “PROMISE – Perioperative Risk Optimization with Machine learning for an Improved Surgical Experience.”

The goal of the project is to use machine learning tools to develop risk stratification models using patient level data to predict surgical risk and direct optimization interventions to reduce this risk. The funding will be used to develop risk stratification tools, and help providers in surgery clinics with optimization goals for their at-risk surgical populations.

The team of investigators includes Duke Anesthesiology’s Drs. Annemarie Thompson and Madhav Swaminathan (both of the Cardiothoracic Anesthesia Division), as well as Dr. Mitchell Heflin, Erich Huang, Shelley McDonald, Mark Sendak, Katherine Heller and Dr. Sandhya Lagoo-Deenadayalan.

The mission of the DIHI is to promote transformative innovation in health and health care, and to help cultivate a community of entrepreneurship across Duke University and its health enterprise. Proposed projects address actual and important problems encountered by care providers, patients and their loved ones in the Duke University Health System and represent urgent health challenges nationally.

Chris KeithAnesthesia Faculty Awarded Health Innovation Grant