2017 Research Grant Awards

The following departmental faculty were awarded new competitive and non-competitive research grants during calendar year 2017. James Davison, PhD Modulation of Organ Injury by Faecalibacterium Prausnitzii in Critical Illness Award Date: 12/7/2017 Funding Agency: The American Society of Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition (ASPEN) Rhoads Research Foundation Grant Amount: $25,000 Richard E. Moon, MD, CM, MSc, FRCP(C),

Chronic Pain Researcher Awarded R03 Grant

Congratulations to Andrea Nackley, PhD, on receiving $160,000 in funding to study peripheral mechanisms that drive chronic pain and work to develop peripherally-restricted therapies for patients with functional pain syndromes.

Division Chief Earns Echocardiography Accolade

Congratulations to Dr. Jonathan Mark, chief of the Veterans Affairs Anesthesiology Service Division, on being selected to receive the 2018 Outstanding Achievement in Perioperative Echocardiography Award.

Dr. Maixner Receives Distinguished Scientist Award

Congratulations to William Maixner, DDS, PhD, vice chair for research, on receiving the award from the American Association for Dental Research in recognition of his significant contribution to the field of oral health research.

Vital Signs – September 13, 2017

Dr. Annemarie ThompsonResidency Program Director September 13, 2017 Not too many announcements this time as we prepare for the upcoming interview season and the annual ASA meeting in Boston. Speaking of Boston, one of my dear friends, Dr. Doug Shook, will be visiting and guiding participants through a heart dissection with echocardiographic correlates on Tuesday,

Chief of Pain Research Named Co-Director of CTPM

Congratulations to Dr. Ru-Rong Ji on being appointed as the co-director of Duke Anesthesiology’s Center for Translational Pain Medicine which drives the discovery of new and innovative pain therapies.