2016 DIG Winners Revealed

The 2016 DREAM Innovation Grant (DIG) winners were announced at Duke Anesthesiology’s 27th Annual ASA Alumni Event aboard the High Spirits yacht in San Diego on October 25. The DIG was launched in 2010 and supports innovative high-risk and potentially high-reward investigations to accelerate anesthesia and pain management research. Each year, Duke Anesthesiology faculty members compete for a DIG by submitting their most innovative research ideas to the DIG Application Review Committee. This year, the department received an exceptional number of seven DIG applications. Three winners are announced each year at the department’s annual ASA alumni event.

Congratulations to the 2016 DIG winners:

Anne Cherry, MD

“Interface of Mitochondrial Dysfunction and Inflammation in Heterotopic Mouse Heart Transplant”

Ulrike Hoffmann, MD, PhD

“Argon as a Potential Therapeutic in Stroke; Effects on Oxygen Utilization and Cerebral Blood Flow Response after Cortical Spreading Depression and Injury Depolarizations”

Niccolò Terrando, PhD

“The Systemic Milieu and its Role in Postoperative Cognitive Dysfunction”

Each DIG winner can receive up to $30,000 in seed money for their pilot studies which ultimately helps them apply for and obtain extramural funding. These grants are funded through a combination of: private donors, private companies, alumni, faculty and executive board members. Funding supports a researcher for one year. To date, $452,900 in DIG donations have led to nearly $4 million in extramural funding.

Dr. Anne Cherry Receiving her DIG Award
Dr. Niccolò Terrando receiving his award.
Dr. Ulrike Hoffmann receiving her award.
Chris Keith2016 DIG Winners Revealed