Introducing the 2019 DREAM Innovation Grant Recipients

2019 DREAM Innovation Grant Recipients

The much anticipated 2019 DREAM Innovation Grant (DIG) recipients were announced at Duke Anesthesiology’s 30th Annual ASA Alumni Event at Cityscape in San Francisco on Sunday, October 14.

Congratulations to the 2019 DIG winners:

DIGs support innovative high-risk and potentially high-reward investigations to accelerate anesthesia and pain management research. Each year, Duke Anesthesiology junior and senior faculty members compete for a DIG by submitting their most innovative research ideas to the DIG Application Review Committee. Dr. William Maixner, vice chair for research, announces the DIG recipients at the department’s annual ASA Alumni Event.

Each DIG recipient can receive up to $30,000 in seed money which supports their pilot study for one year and ultimately helps them apply for and obtain extramural funding. These grants are funded through a combination of private donors, private companies, alumni, faculty and executive board members. To date, $752,378 has been funded by DIGs which has led to nearly $11 million in extramural funding to further investigate the role of Alzheimer’s pathways, therapies to improve stroke outcomes, ways to prevent cognitive decline after surgery, blood cell rejuvenation, and more. Click here to view the 2011-2018 DIG recipients and learn more about their projects.

DIGs are part of the Duke DREAM Campaign, which launched in 2007 to support Duke Anesthesiology’s research programs and initiatives. These grants create an avenue for healthy competition among faculty, inspire ingenuity, promote the careers of young physician investigators, enhance donor communication, and further the department’s academic mission. DIGs help to bridge the gap between training and progression to independent investigator status. Please consider making an online gift to the Duke DREAM Campaign to support our department’s research initiatives focused on improving patient care.

Stacey HiltonIntroducing the 2019 DREAM Innovation Grant Recipients