Certification Requirements for Special Competence in Basic Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography (Basic PTEeXAM)

As presented on the National Board of Echocardiography website:

  1. Successful completion of the Examination of Special Competence in Perioperative Transesophageal Echocardiography 
  2. Current License to Practice Medicine
  3. Current Medical Board Certification
  4. Specific Training in Basic Perioperative TEE:
    1. Supervised Training Pathway:
      1. 150 basic perioperative TEE examinations under appropriate supervision. Of the 150 examinations, at least 50 basic intraoperative TEE examinations must be personally performed and interpreted by the trainee under supervision.
      2. Supervised training in basic perioperative TEE must be obtained from an ACGME or other national accreditation agency accredited anesthesiology residency program, and must be accomplished within a four-year period of time or less.
    2. Practice Experience Pathway:
      1. 150 basic intra­operative TEE examinations within four (4) consecutive years immediately preceding application with no less than 25 in any year in which any of the 150 echocardiograms were performed.
      2. 40 hours of AMA category 1 continuing medical education devoted to perioperative TEE obtained during the time the physician is acquiring the requisite clinical experience in TEE.

For more information please visit http://www.echoboards.org/content/basic-pteexam