Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

Duke Anesthesiology Fellowships

Critical Care Medicine (CCM) ACGME approved program provides a comprehensive 1-year training program in both Critical Care Medicine and TEE, leading to board eligibility in both CCM through the American Board of Anesthesiology and in TEE through the National Board of Echocardiography.

CCM Application Process

CCM Fellowship utilizes the SF Match process, under the sponsorship of the Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists (SOCCA). Please visit and for additional information.

CCM Eligibility, Recruitment and Selection Click to view PDF.

Fellowship Education

The goal of the Fellowship in CCM / Anesthesiology is to provide trainees with background knowledge necessary for the care of critically ill patients and an appreciation of management issues unique to this patient population, in the perioperative period and elsewhere. Critical care medicine is a multidisciplinary field concerned with patients who have sustained, or are at risk of sustaining, life threatening, single or multiple organ system failure due to disease or injury. Critical care medicine seeks to provide for the needs of these patients through immediate and continuous observation and intervention so as to restore health and prevent complications. A Fellow will become competent in all aspects of recognizing and managing acutely ill adult patients with single or multiple organ system failure requiring ongoing monitoring and support.

In addition, all fellows will receive training in TEE both in the OR and in the ICU. Fellows will attain proficiency in echocardiography through hands-on experience coupled with weekly didactic sessions including lectures and case conferences.

Clinical Features: [9 months ICU training, 2 months CTOR/CTOR TEE]

  • 18 weeks in the Trauma/Surgical ICU at Duke University Hospital; one day per week in OR performing anesthetic management and TEE
  • 4 weeks in the Cardiothoracic ICU at Duke University Hospital
  • 18 weeks in the Durham VA SICU, including postoperative management of cardiothoracic surgical patients; daily TEE exams; weekly TEE teaching conference
  • 6 weeks dedicated TEE training
  • 7-8 weeks additional elective time
  • Total echocardiographic experience that will significantly exceed current National Board of Echocardiography recommendations for qualification
  • Weekly Critical Care conferences, case presentations, and lectures covering the Critical Care core curriculum

Fellowship Research

Mentor-Guided Anesthesia Research Assures Skill Development In:

  • The ability to formulate clinically relevant hypotheses in critical care medicine and anesthesiology
  • Project design skills, to create achievable studies able to answer questions according to scientific method
  • Execution of research project
  • Introduction to statistical analysis techniques
  • Interpretation of results and preparation of a manuscript
  • Presentation of research at national meetings
  • Introduction to research funding and grants
  • Ability to critically evaluate the research of other investigators

Fellowship teaching opportunities include experience in resident education and participation in didactic sessions and other clinical teaching.

Fellow Evaluation

Evaluation and feedback is an important part of Fellowship education. Fellows will be evaluated on each of the six clinical competencies. Evaluations will be made by the ICU attendings; additionally, 360° evaluations will be completed by nurses, pharmacists, respiratory therapists, and other housestaff rotating in the ICU. Evaluations will be reviewed at 6 months and 1 year, allowing early and frequent feedback.

Nawar Al-Rawas (Baylor University Dallas TX)
Hassan Amhaz (Private Practice)
Vinca Chow (Darmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, NH)
Thomas Christianson (Duke 2017-2018 Neurocritical Care Fellowship)
Benjamin Dunne (Private Practice, Anesthesia Practice Consultants, Grand Rapids, MI)
Jamie Privratsky (DUMC)
Matthew Read (Academic & Military Practice, San Antonio TX)
Suraj Yalamuri (Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN)
Eric Ehieli (Regional Anesthesia, PLLC/Duke Regional Hospital)
Haley Goucher (The University of Kansas Hospital, Kansas City, KS)
Nazish Hashmi (DUMC)
Sharon McCartney (DUMC)
Brian Titus (University of VA, Charlottesville, VA)
Michael Fierro (DUMC)
Ali Rashid (Holy Cross Hospital, Fort Lauderdale, FL)
Mandeep Singh (USC Medical Center, Los Angeles, CA)
Arturo Suarez (DUMC)
Xueyuan Shelly Wang (Virginia Hospital Center, Arlington, VA)
Anthony Bonavia (Penn State Medical Center, Hershey, PA)
Megan Krajewski (Beth Israel in Boston, MA)
Kunal Panda (Baylor St Luke’s Medical Center, Houston, TX)
Quintin Quinones (DUMC)
Lauren Zanotti (Greater Colorado Anesthesia Private Practice, Denver, CO)
Nasrin Aldawoodi (Duke Raleigh-Rex Hospital/American Anesthesiology of NC, Raleigh, NC)
Karsten Bartels (UC Denver, CO)
Kandis Johnson (Jewish Hospital, Louisville, KY)
Soo Kim (University of Texas at Galveston/Medical Branch Galveston, TX)
John Lemm (DUMC)
Ryan Fink (Oregon Health and Sciences University, Portland OR)
John Nardiello (Duke Raleigh-Rex Hospital/American Anesthesiology of NC, Raleigh, NC)

Russell Roberson (UNC Chapel Hill)
Robert Thiele (University of VA, Charlottesville, VA)
Noelle DeSimone (University Anesthesiology Associates, Augusta, GA)
Roman Dudaryk (University of Miami Health System, Miami FL)
David Joseph (Scott &White Healthcare, Temple Hospital and Continuing Care Hospital, TX)
Arvin Trippensee (Jacksonville, FL)
Matthew Atkins (Duke Raleigh-Rex Hospital/American Anesthesiology of NC, Raleigh, NC)
Jordan Cuthbert (University of Ottawa, Canada)
Brendan Howes (American Anesthesiology of NC, Cary/Raleigh, NC)
Robert Preston (University of Utah)
Daniel Amitie (Jersey Shore University Medical Center, Neptune, NJ)
Larry Field (MUSC, Charleston, SC)
Duane Funk (University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Canada)
Eugene Lujan (US Naval Medical Center, San Diego, CA)
David Coy (Flagstaff, AZ)
Mihai Podgoreanu (DUMC)
Maher Albaharani (The Royal Hospital Ministry of Health, Sultanate of Oman)
Marcella Lanzinger (Technische Universität München, Germany)
Patrick Neligan (University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA)
Angela Joseph (Huron Medical Center, Bad Axe, MI)
Chiedozie Udeh (University of Iowa School of Medicine, Iowa City, IA)
Albert Hasson (Arizona Anesthesia Consultant, Glendale, AZ)
Kevin Patrick (Piedmont Hendersonville Anesthesia, Hendersonville, NC)
Eugene Moretti (DUMC)
Faisal Masud (Methodist Hospital – Houston, Houston, TX)
Ian Welsby (DUMC)
Elliott Bennett-Guerrero (SUNY Stony Brook, NY)
Nancy Knudsen (DUMC)
Clarence “Tony” Huggins (Rex Hospital/American Anesthesiology of NC, Raleigh, NC)

For further information, please contact:

Christopher C. Young, MD, FCCM
Christopher C. Young, MD, FCCM
Professor of Anesthesiology
Program Director, Critical Care Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
Box 3094
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC 27710
E mail:

Susan Morris
Susan Morris
Program Coordinator
Critical Care Medicine Fellowship
Department of Anesthesiology
Duke University Medical Center
DUMC 3094
2301 Erwin Rd, 5688C HAFS Building
Durham, NC 27710

ChrisCritical Care Medicine Fellowship